Last updated November 2026 · By Walkers4Seniors Editorial Team
Affiliate disclosure: Some links on this page are affiliate links. If you buy through them, we may earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. Medical disclaimer: This guide is general information, not medical advice. Ask your doctor or physical therapist whether a wheeled walker is right for you before adding wheels.
Quick answer: Walker wheels are a pair of 5-inch (sometimes 3-inch) wheels that replace the front legs of a standard folding walker, turning it into a two-wheeled walker you push instead of lift. Most kits cost about $11 to $75 a pair, fit 1-inch walker tubing and include rear glide caps; kits that list a weight limit hold 300 to 350 lb.
Best for most people: Drive Medical Universal 5″ Walker Wheels (10109), a low-cost fixed pair with glide caps.
Best for tight indoor turns: Drive Medical Swivel Lock 5″ Walker Wheels (10115).
Best budget pick for HSA/FSA: McKesson Universal Rear Glide 5″ Walker Wheels.
Which walker wheels should you buy? Comparison table
| Product | Wheel | Fixed or swivel | Capacity (maker/retailer) | Rear glides included | Typical price (pair) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Drive Medical Universal Walker Wheels 10109 | 5 in. | Fixed | 350 lb | Yes (glide caps) | $11 to $21 |
| Drive Medical Swivel Lock Walker Wheels 10115 | 5 in. | Swivel, locks straight | 350 lb (Walmart) / 300 lb (CME) | Yes (caps + covers) | about $28 to $74 |
| McKesson Universal Rear Glide Walker Wheels | 5 in. | Not stated | Not stated | Rear-glide design | about $13 |
| Medline 5″ Walker Wheel Kit MDS86615W5W | 5 in. | Not stated | Not stated | Yes (full set) | about $52 |
| Medline 5″ Swivel Wheels MDS86615SW5 | 5 in. | Swivel | 300 lb | Not stated | about $69 |
Prices were checked at US retailers in November 2026 and change often. Always confirm that the kit fits your walker’s leg tubing (most adult walkers use 1-inch tubing).
See current walker wheel prices on Amazon
What are walker wheels, and what do they do?
Walker wheels are replacement front legs with a wheel at the bottom. You push the walker’s buttons, slide out the two front legs, and slide in the wheel legs. Most kits also include glide caps (or “skis”) for the back legs so the walker slides instead of catching.
The result is a two-wheeled walker, also called a front-wheeled walker. According to a 2021 review in American Family Physician, a two-wheeled walker lets people “without good upper body strength” move without lifting the walker and helps them keep a more normal walking pattern.
Should you add wheels to a standard walker?
It depends on why you use a walker. The same American Family Physician review describes the trade-off clearly:
- Standard walker (no wheels): the most stable type, but you must lift it with every step, which slows your walking.
- Two-wheeled walker: easier to move and a more natural gait, but less stable than a standard walker and it needs a wider turning arc.
- Four-wheeled walker (rollator): the least stable type; it can roll away if the brakes are not set, and it should not be used to bear weight.
Adding wheels can make sense if lifting the walker tires you, hurts your shoulders or wrists, or makes you hold your breath with each step. Keep the standard legs if your therapist told you to put weight through the walker, for example after a fracture.
Who should NOT add walker wheels?
- People who lean heavily on the walker for weight bearing (a therapist should decide this).
- Anyone whose walker tends to roll ahead of them on smooth floors. Ask a physical therapist before switching; if you have Parkinson’s, see our guide to walkers for Parkinson’s.
- Bariatric or heavy-duty walkers: these usually need the maker’s own wheel kit, not a universal one.
- Hemi walkers, knee walkers and rollators: universal walker wheels are made for folding standard walkers only.
Fixed or swivel walker wheels: which is safer?
Fixed wheels roll only straight ahead. They track well in hallways and are the usual choice for a first wheeled walker.
Swivel wheels turn 360 degrees, so the walker turns more easily in small kitchens and bathrooms. They can also wobble or veer on uneven ground. Swivel-lock models, like Drive 10115, let you lock the wheels straight for outdoor walks and unlock them indoors.
3-inch vs 5-inch: 5-inch wheels roll more easily over thresholds and rugs. Drive sells a 3-inch version (10111) for “nimbler turning” in tight spaces, but smaller wheels catch more easily on carpet edges.
The 5 walker wheel kits, compared
We did not test these products ourselves. Below we separate the manufacturer or retailer specs from what owners report and our editorial take.
1. Drive Medical Universal 5″ Walker Wheels (10109): Best for most people
Specs (Vitality Medical, Carewell): 5-inch hard composite rubber wheels; fits 1-inch tubing; 350 lb capacity; 8 height settings; glide caps included; latex-free. Price seen: $10.91 a pair at Vitality Medical, $13.59 at Carewell (out of stock there), $20.99 at MaxiAids (Drive SKU 150109, with two sets of rear glides).
What owners report: no meaningful review count was shown on the listings we checked, so we can’t summarize owner feedback.
Our take: the simplest, cheapest way to try a two-wheeled walker. Fixed wheels track straight, which suits most first-time users.
Not for: very tight bathrooms where you need to pivot the walker often.
2. Drive Medical Swivel Lock 5″ Walker Wheels (10115): Best for tight indoor turns
Specs: 5-inch rubber swivel wheels that lock for straight rolling or unlock to swivel; rear glide caps and glide covers included. Walmart lists 350 lb capacity; CME Corp lists 300 lb and up to 5 height adjustments. When retailers disagree, plan around the lower number (300 lb). Price seen: $28.40 at Walmart, $73.68 at CME Corp.
What owners report: 4.5 out of 5 stars from 87 ratings on Walmart (November 2026).
Our take: the most flexible option if you walk both indoors and outside: swivel in the kitchen, locked on the sidewalk.
Not for: users with tremor or poor control, who may find free-swiveling wheels hard to steer. Keep them locked until a therapist says otherwise.
3. McKesson Universal Rear Glide 5″ Walker Wheels: Best budget pick
Specs (Optum Store): 5-inch wheels, one pair; up to 8 height options; converts most traditional walkers into rolling walkers; listed as HSA/FSA eligible. Price seen: $12.99. Capacity, tube size and fixed/swivel type are not stated.
What owners report: no review summary was shown.
Our take: fine if you want to pay with HSA/FSA funds, but confirm tube size and weight capacity with the seller before ordering.
Not for: anyone over 300 lb until the capacity is confirmed.
4. Medline 5″ Walker Wheel Kit (MDS86615W5W): Best complete kit
Specs (WellBefore): front wheel legs with 5-inch wheels plus a complete set of glide caps for the rear legs; HCPCS code E0155. Price seen: $51.98. Stock status was unclear on the listing.
Our take: a good choice if your walker is a Medline model and you want parts from the same maker. Check the kit lists your walker model.
Not for: shoppers on a tight budget; the Drive kit does the same job for much less.
5. Medline 5″ Swivel Wheels with 1″ Tubing (MDS86615SW5): Best Medline swivel option
Specs (SpinLife): 5-inch swivel wheels with 360-degree movement; fits 1-inch tubing; 300 lb capacity. Price seen: $69.00. No lock is listed.
Our take: pricey, and without a lock it is better for indoor use.
Not for: outdoor walking on sidewalks with cracks or slopes.
How do you put wheels on a walker? (5 steps)
- Fold or turn the walker on its side on a bed or table.
- Press the spring button on one front leg and slide the leg out.
- Slide in the wheel leg, line up the button with the hole at the right height, and let it click through. You should see the button fully out of the hole.
- Repeat on the other front leg, using the same hole number so the walker is level.
- Replace the back rubber tips with the glide caps (or keep tips if your therapist prefers). Then check the handle height with our walker height calculator and how to adjust a walker guide.
Push down hard on the handles before your first step. If anything moves or clicks, stop and recheck the buttons.
Do you need glides on the back legs?
Usually, yes. Rubber tips grip the floor and make a wheeled walker jerk or drag. Glide caps, skis or tennis balls let the back legs slide. Our tennis balls vs glides guide compares the options.
Does Medicare pay for walker wheels?
Walker wheel attachments have their own billing code, HCPCS E0155 (“wheel attachment, rigid pick-up walker, per pair”). Medicare Part B may cover walker accessories under the same rules as the walker itself, when a doctor documents medical need and you buy from a Medicare-enrolled supplier (CMS LCD L33791). Read our Medicare walker guide for the steps. At $11 to $30, many families simply buy a pair.
What else helps a wheeled walker work better?
- Padded walker hand grips if your hands get sore.
- Walker trays and baskets and bags so your hands stay on the handles.
- Our hub of walker and rollator accessories.
- If you are not sure a walker is the right aid at all, start with our fall risk assessment and the best walkers for seniors.
Walker wheels FAQ
Do walker wheels fit all walkers?
No. Universal kits fit most adult folding walkers with 1-inch leg tubing. Junior, bariatric and some older walkers use different sizes. Measure the outside of the leg tube before you buy.
Are 5-inch or 3-inch walker wheels better?
5-inch wheels roll more easily over rugs and door thresholds, so they suit most homes. 3-inch wheels turn more tightly but catch more easily on carpet edges.
Is a walker with wheels safer than one without?
Not always. A standard walker is the most stable type. A two-wheeled walker is easier to move and allows a more normal gait but is less stable. Your therapist can tell you which suits your balance.
Can I put wheels on the back legs too?
Not with universal kits. A walker with four wheels is a rollator, which needs hand brakes. Back legs should have tips or glides so the walker doesn’t roll away.
How much weight can walker wheels hold?
The kits we found list 300 to 350 lb. If retailer listings disagree, use the lower number, and never exceed the weight limit of the walker itself.
What is HCPCS code E0155?
E0155 is the Medicare billing code for a wheel attachment for a rigid pick-up walker, per pair.
Sources
- Sehgal M, et al. Mobility Assistive Device Use in Older Adults. Am Fam Physician. 2021;103(12):737-744.
- CMS. LCD L33791: Walkers.
- HCPCS E0155 description.
- Retailer spec pages: Vitality Medical (Drive 10109/10111), Walmart (Drive Swivel Lock), CME Corp (Drive 10115), Optum Store (McKesson), WellBefore (Medline kit), SpinLife (Medline swivel).

